Len Jacobsen Memorial Trophy

Since 2008 the Len Jacobsen Memorial Trophy has been awarded by the general committee for outstanding achievement to the participation and contribution of a member to all aspects of the association. This trophy is seen as the most prestigious award within the association.

Before 2008 the award was made to the referee who obtained the highest grade during the year. In 1993, the Patron’s Trophy was renamed in honour of the late Leonard William (Len) Jacobsen OAM LM who passed away on the 4th December 1992.

Len was born 17th November 1913 and first joined the association in 1935, some nine years after the formation of the association. In his early years he achieved many appointments to important games as either a referee or touch judge, including:

  • Brisbane A Grade referee 1937 – 1941;
  • Bulimba Cup 1941 referee (Brisbane, Ipswich and Toowoomba representative games);
  • Geraghty Cup Final referee (former Murrumba Rugby League);
  • Five Queensland v New South Wales games as a touch judge;
  • Seven Brisbane A Grade finals as a touch judge; and
  • Four international games as a touch judge.

After his retirement from active refereeing, Len took up various administration positions within the association including:

  • Life Member 1954
  • Patron 1980-1992
  • Treasurer 1953-1956
  • Registrar 1958-1983

Len also served two years on the appointment board and was made a life member of the Brisbane Rugby League in 1980.

Len was honored by her Majesty the Queen on the 11th June 1990 with the Order of Australia Medal (General Division) for his services to rugby league and to refereeing in particular. An achievement he was justly proud and recognised his very long (57 years) and dedicated service to not only our association but to the game in general.

Source: G Mines LM, President’s Report. Brisbane Rugby League Referees Association Incorporated 67th Annual Report 1993.

Member and Year Awarded
Marc Sauvage2019Brett Suttor2006
Brian Roper2018Brett Suttor2005
Tom Lightfoot2017Tony Maksoud2004
Michael Wise2016Adam Neale2003
Chris Wilson2015Tony Maksoud2002
Alan Reese2014No award2001
Ron Greentree2013Tony Maksoud2000
Darryl Cross2012Tony Maksoud1999
Scott Irvine2011Tony Maksoud1998
Peter Gilson2010Stuart Berndt1997
Darryl Cross2009Stuart Berndt1996
Alex Sideris2008Stuart Berndt1995
Micheal Wise2007Stuart Berndt1994
Stuart Berndt1993

Home of the biggest referee association in the world!